Our History

Our History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 250,000 predominately Black college educated women. This includes over 950 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness and Involvement
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Political Awareness and Involvement


The Albany (GA) Alumnae Chapter was chartered in 1949 as Gamma Psi Chapter through the visionary leadership of ten Albany, Georgia women. Charter members were Nola J. Weston, Ann G. Stroud, Emma L. Latimer, Emma L. Rembert, Blanche Staley, Jeanne L. Noble, Nellie Roulhac, Mamie B. Reese, Vesta R. Pruitt and Leah G. Berry. Eleven years later, the chapter’s name was changed to the Albany Alumnae Chapter and to the Albany (GA) Alumnae Chapter in 1976. Located in the Good Life City of Albany, Georgia, the Albany (GA) Alumnae Chapter promotes Achievement, Growth, & Advancement for the Community.

The chapter honors and salutes the following charter members: The late Dr. Jeanne L. Noble, who served four years (1958-63) as the 12th National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. The late Dr. Anne Greene Stroud, who served as the Southern Regional Director for four years (1970-1974). Nellie Rouhlac chaired the National Personnel Committee. Dr. Emma Remhert was a candidate for the Office of Regional Director and Emma Bell Clas Latimer was a noted pianist in the city of Cleveland, Ohio. All of the above chartered members have served on various national and regional committees.

The following presidents of the Albany (GA) Alumnae Chapter have sustained this rich heritage of demonstrated leadership: Dr. Nellie Roulhac, Mamie Bynes Reese, Dr. Anne Greene Stroud, Andolia Eaton, Odessa Hamilton, Richardine Chadwell, Sophranie Steele, Sharlotte Simmons, Rubye Hampton, Dr. Velma Grant, Dr. Alma Reese, Frances Davis, Bernice Berry, Kathleen Caldwell, Pearle Booker, Joyce Chaney, Geraldine W. Hudley, Dr. Elaine Baker, Viola W. Brooks, Dr. Linda G. Solomon, Gloria W. Jefferson, Shirley S. Brown, Vamella Lovett, and presently, Chiquita M. Greene.